My Ted talk

How sugar affects the brain

For this project my chosen Ted talk is about the exploration of sugar intake and the affects on the brain. After hitting a brick wall about how I was to approach this project, I have decided to aim my work at young children and teenagers. I wish to help my audience to become aware of sugar and the damaging affects it has. I found my Ted talk on YouTube, this subject interested me and I believe that the people around me and myself are not aware as much as we should be when it comes to consuming sugars. 

The Ted talk itself isn’t a usual presentation with a speaker on a stage with a micro phone, instead this Ted talk is a video with detailed moving illustrations and diagrams. The person speaking through out the video is a lady called Nicole Avena, it’s narrated by an artist called Michelle Snow. I particularly was taken by the illustrations, chosen colour palette and overall composition of the video. I wish to represent this through my work and extent/develope this video as a piece or pieces. 

Link to video – please watch!
Scroll down and see some snap shots of the video. 

“What is sugar?”

  

They as questions such as…

   
   

They explain what the Cerebral Cortex does 

  

And the function of our stomach and gut…

  

It also explains what Dophamine is, which in short is the currency of our reward system. 

What happens to your Dophamine levels when you eat healthy foods…

  

And when you eat sugary foods…

    

This project excites me quite a lot. Can’t wait to sink my teeth into it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

