Week 5 – Archaeologies of essay 

For my essay I have chosen to look at the reading material given to us in week 2, ‘The minds eye’ by Joseph Jastrow. After a few reads of this piece I began to fully understand what he was trying to say and the theories being put across. I found this approach of viewing the world interesting and new. It really excited me that I understood what was being said and I for once have confidence in what I was writing about!

My essay question:

“What are the differences between ‘ambiguous’ and ‘realistic’ to express a meaning or message?”

To begin:

Ambiguous: adjective – open to more than one interpretation; having a double meaning.

Realistic: adjective – representing familiar things in a way that is accurate or familiar.

To construct my essay I had to break down each paragraph and formulate the appropriate information and theories into the right order. I began by introducing my author, text and theories. Then I wrote about my theories,my thoughts and the views of Joseph Jastrow. Followed by how I was going to evidence my theories. Lastly to conclude, I highlighted why I chose this piece of literature and the affects it will have on my practice, illustration. My conclusion also covered the take home message the author was trying to portray. Here is my structure in full…

   
    
 

Leave a Reply

