War horse – The Slate 

The slate was a great find, cleaned up and chipped to shape the colour and crocked edges are well suited to this project topic. During the war slate was used for many aspects of shelter building, moving artillery and Many other purposes.

To accompany the slate, I also found loose bits of thin wire and a horse shoe. Both materials also suit this story and setting of work. With the wire I have composed a simple image of a horse and man. Thinly framed and characterised, the figures are representatives for the characters in the story. The horse shoe I used as a frame to hold a series of specifically placed beads. Using colours such as pale pink, glass coated red and dark blue I have tried to captured the blood pour from the soldiers during such a dark and dampened time. These beads also form the Union Jack.


With the brief asking for three pieces I have only composed two. My reason being because I cannot find a suitable use for the third. With the simplicity of the other two I dot want to ruin the composition as a whole. With this Christmas project I have felt as though I haven’t had any connection with this work. The story itself isn’t something that interests. But I have found that I lack a connection in most of my work. This is definitely something I need to work on…

 

Leave a Reply

